Photo courtesy of National Council of Churches in the Philippines

(A Statement on Anti-Terrorism Bill)

The United Church of Christ in the Philippines (UCCP) strongly condemns the recent red-tagging of the UCCP and other religious groups and institutions by the National Task Force to End Local Communist Armed Conflict (NTF-ELCAC) posted on their official social media account on facebook. Such tagging is a rehash of an old, hoary tactic used by the military to silence government critics and to suppress the people from expressing their reasonable concerns. It is a reckless act meant obviously to discredit the image of legitimate institutions like the Church which commits itself to work with the people in the noble cause of peace advocacy and human rights protection.

Said tagging serves as a prelude to the implementation of the Anti-Terrorism Law that that has been approved by Congress and Senate. The Anti-Terrorism Bill is a peril not just against those upholding and safeguarding human rights, but against every individual or group who advocates and defends human rights and the protection of human dignity as afforded to all by God.

Under an administration that easily bulls and interdicts any perceived political threat, enacting a law such as this would surely bring further horror and trepidation. Enacting a law without guaranteed safeguards is like pushing the stash button of a deadly bomb at the expense of those perceived to be opposed to the administration.

As a church that firmly affirms that the image of God is in every human being, we solidly stand on the conviction that human rights must be safeguarded at all costs. As such, we call on both houses of Congress to scrap the Anti-Terrorism Bill. We also call on our members to pray unceasingly that our legislators may be led to a decision that would truly serve the interest of the Filipino people not only of the little gods of power and might.

June 3, 2020

Bishop Melzar D. Labuntog
General Secretary

Bishop Joseph G. Agpaoa
North Luzon Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Emergencio D. Padillo
Middle Luzon Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Joel E. Tendero
South Luzon Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Jerome C. Baris
East Visayas Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Feliciana P. Tenchavez
West Visayas Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Ligaya F. San Francisco
Northwest Mindanao Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Hamuel G. Tequis
Southeast Mindanao Jurisdictional Area

Bishops Emeritus:
Bishop Arturo R. Asi
Bishop Jezer E. Bertoldo

Bishop Isaias L. Bingtan
Bishop Erme R. Camba
Bishop Ebenezer C. Camino
Bishop Constante D. Claro
Bishop Gabriel A. Garol
Bishop Hilario M. Gomez, Jr.
Bishop Marino I. Inong
Bishop Reuel Norman O. Marigza
Bishop Roel P. Mendoza
Bishop Jaime R. Moriles

Bishop Eliezer M. Pascua
Bishop Dulce Pia-Rose
Bishop Elorde M. Sambat

Bishop Anacleto G. Serafica
Bishop Jessie S. Suarez
Bishop Rizalino Q. Taganas
Bishop Modesto D. Villasanta

Please click this link for the downloadable file,​ ​A MOCKERY AGAINST FREEDOM AND SOVEREIGNTY

Leave a Reply