

UNITED CHURCH OF CHRIST INT THE PHILIPPINES

877 Epifanio de los Santos Avenue, West Triangle, Quezon City Telephone: (632) 8426-1729 * 8426-3790 * 436-9157 Fax: (632) 8426-1729

E-mail: ogs@uccpchurch.com Website: www.uccpchurch.com

COUNCIL OF BISHOPS

Let freedom, justice and peace reign in our land!

(A Pastoral Statement on the Commemoration of the 125th Philippine Independence)

It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery. You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh^[a]; rather, serve one another humbly in love. (Galatians 5: 1, 13)

We commemorate the 125th anniversary of the declaration of Philippine independence this 12th day of June. The Protestant branch of the Church that set foot on the country at the beginning of the 20th century came at the juncture of the newly-formed independent Republic from Spanish Crown and the snatching of that freedom by the American colonialism. Rising from the heaps of ravages of the revolution waged against the colonial powers, and the establishment of a national government, 125 years after, genuine independence and basic freedoms are still found wanting.

The Council of Bishops in view of the day's significance to the life and ministry of the Church and in solidarity with the basic sectors of society who are suffering from the impact of political and economic governance reiterates the following:

- 1. Affirm the sovereignty of the Filipino people and their right to selfdetermination, freedom from any external interference by modern empires encroaching in the country's territory and subvert people's political and economic rights (cf. COB, 19 March 1986);
- 2. Assert the Church's abhorrence and resistance to repressive and tyrannical governance of the nation and calls for the restoration and protection of all civil and political liberties of the citizens, the abrogation of the Anti-Terrorism Law (ATL) and the counter insurgency pseudo-state agency, such as the NTF ELCAC (cf. UCCP GA 1978, A Resolution on Civil, Political liberties);
- 3. Reiterate our stand for genuine and sustainable human development in the context of climate emergency and the global economic crisis, seeking solidarity with the people—the peasants, workers, urban poor, and other marginalized

sectors in their struggle for justice and liberation, (cf. UCCP GA, 1978, Epistles to the Christians of today);

- 4. Engage in various forms of Christian service to those who are victims of redtagging, imprisoned due to trumped-up charges, offer spiritual comfort and pastoral care to farm and industrial workers seeking just wages and decent living, to the poor and underprivileged who need to feel the touch of Christ's love, (cf. UCCP GA 1974).
- 5. Nurture and educate our Church members to imbibe the biblical and Christian principles of freedom, justice and peace in all educational programs so that the Christian spirituality of compassion and love will be nourished and strengthened.

On this occasion, we pray with all Christian faithful that freedom that comes from Christ, enable us to pursue and exemplify the kind of life God intends for all people, within and outside the Church. May we strengthen our wills against the lure of the flesh--the sinful state of human beings, a power in opposition to the Spirit, so that the freedom we have will bring us closer to our people and to God in Jesus Christ. Amen. +

COUNCIL OF BISHOPS

12 June 2023

Bishop Melzar D. Labuntog

General Secretary

Bishop Joseph & Agpaoa

North Luzon Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Victor Paller

South Luzon Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Feliciana P. Tenchavez West Visayas Jurisdictional Area Bishop Jerby Salor

parain I. air &

Bishop Francisco Aviso, Jr.

Middle Luzon Jurisdictional Area

East Visayas Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Ligaya F. San Francisco

West Mindanao Jurisdictional Area



Bishop Daniel Palicte

Southeast Mindanao Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Emeriti

Bishop Emergencio D. Padillo Bi

Middle Luzon Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Jerome C. Baris

East Visayas Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Arturo R. Asi

South Luzon Jurisdiction

Bishop Modesto Villasanta

Southeast Mindanao Jurisdiction

Bishop Jessie Suarez

Middle Luzon Jurisdiction

Bishop Eliezer Pascua

South Luzon Jurisdiction

Bishop Erme R. Camba

West Visayas Jurisdiction

Bishop Elorde Sambat

North Luzon Jurisdiction

Bishop Ebenezer Camino

West Visayas Jurisdiction

Bishop Constante Claro

Southeast Mindanao Jurisdiction

Bishop Marino Inong

North Luzon Jurisdiction

Bishop Reuel Norman Marigza

North Luzon Jurisdiction

Bishop Dulce Pia-Rose

East Visayas Jurisdiction

Bishop Jezer Bertoldo

West Visayas Jurisdiction

Bishop Rizalino Taganas

East Visayas Jurisdiction

Bishop Jaime Moriles

East Visayas Jurisdiction

Bishop Joel E. Tendero

South Luzon Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Hamuel G. Tequis

South East Mindanao Jurisdictional Area