



ALL CONFERENCE MINISTERS AND THE COUNCIL OF BISHOPS

Statement on Harassment of Church Leaders and Members via Perjury Case and Red-tagging

Our beloved and concerned Church members, leaders, and friends:

We know that you have probably read and heard of what seemed to be alarming news but unmasked as harassment by those sowing discord without qualms of its possible impact.

The red-tagging and defamatory article on social media issued by Sprint News and Views on the alleged perjury by your UCCP Church leaders who served from 2014-2018 is factually misleading and legally infirm. Quite telling is that Sprint News and Views social media outfit is dubious and shady, with authorship and legitimacy suspect, and evidently serves suspicious and malicious objectives.

Everett Mendoza, Jessie Emmanuel L. Bacon II, and Cliff Fortugaleza, three disgruntled individuals who were once national leaders but have turned hostile toward the Church, have lodged a puny perjury complaint before the Mandaluyong prosecutor's office which later filed the case with the Metropolitan Trial Court. This latest nuisance suit is another vain effort to further their persecution of Church leaders by putting the lives of bishops, church workers, and members in danger by prejudice, misrepresentation, incitement to hatred and filing of baseless charges, coupled with malicious red-tagging.

In the end, the facts, circumstances and context of the incident and document in issue which was used, albeit wrongly, as their basis for filing the perjury complaint will be explained clearly and fully in court based on the law and evidence and will vindicate the Church as a whole and the concerned members of the subject National Executive Council (NEC) in particular. We trust that an independent and impartial tribunal will determine and establish this.

The accused Church leaders and their witnesses will henceforth directly controvert the perjury charges in court since it is already pending there and that is the proper legal forum and not in endless, counterproductive and divisive tit for tat in social media. Meanwhile, your Bishops and Church Leaders listed as respondents and now accused to the perjury case were compelled to post bail in the Mandaluyong Metropolitan Trial Court and in other Court branches in places where they live.

We urge our Church members to thwart the destructive schemes of those who have filed the perjury case with the apparent goading of the State and its agencies and forces who are intolerant of dissent and afraid of the truth.

Pray for our Church's leaders and members, whose lives are in danger and whose personal and family lives are ruined by reckless and ill-motivated accusations of criminal acts.

May the God of justice and love will stand up for them and protect them. In the light of this, let us be reminded of Paul's encouragement to the Ephesian Church:

...Be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his power. Put on the whole armour of God, so that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. For our struggle is not against enemies of blood and flesh, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers of this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places. (Eph. 6: 10-12 NRSV).

> **ALL CMs & THE COUNCIL OF BISHOPS** January 31, 2023

> > Bishop Melzar D. Labuntog **General Secretary**

Bishop Joseph G. Agpaoa

North Luzon Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Vic South Luzon Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Francisco Aviso,

Middle Luzon Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Jerby Salor East Visayas Jurisdictional

Bishop Feliciar Tenchavez West Visayas Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Ligava F. San Francisco West Mindanao Jurisdictional Are

Bishop Daniel Palicte Southeast Mindanao Jurisdictional Area

Bishops Emeritus

Bishop Emergencio D. Padillo	Bishop Jerome C. Baris
Middle Luzon Jurisdictional Area	East Visayas Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Arturo R. Asi South Luzon Jurisdiction Bishop Modesto Villasanta Southeast Mindanao Jurisdiction

Bishop Jessie S. Suarez Middle Luzon Jurisdiction

Bishop Erme R. Camba West Visayas Jurisdiction

Bishop Ebenezer Camino West Visayas Jurisdiction

Bishop Marino Inong North Luzon Jurisdiction

Bishop Dulce Pia-Rose East Visayas Jurisdiction

Bishop Rizalino Taganas East Visayas Jurisdiction

Bishop Joel E. Tendero South Luzon Jurisdictional Area **Bishop Eliezer Pascua** South Luzon Jurisdiction

Bishop Elorde Sambat North Luzon Jurisdiction

Bishop Constante Claro Southeast Mindanao Jurisdiction

Bishop Reuel Norman O. Marigza North Luzon Jurisdiction

Bishop Jezer Bertoldo West Visayas Jurisdiction

Bishop Jaime Moriles East Visayas Jurisdiction

Bishop Hamuel G. Tequis South East Mindanao Jurisdictional Area

Conference Ministers

South Luzon Jurisdictional Area (SLJA)

Rev. Migfred M. Taruc	UCC
Rev. Joel Bayot	BAC
Rev. Gener Destor	OMC
Rev. Samuel A. Erandio	SBC
Rev. Martha M. Faller	NSTC
Rev. Eleanor Dela Cruz	PAC
Rev. Joatam S. Margarata	NBC

ALL CMs & COB Statement on Perjury and Red-tagging



Rev. Ian Loid Delos Santos	OMAC	
Northwest Mindanao Jurisdictional Area (NWMJA)		
Rev. Virmelito F. Tubio	LDC	
Rev. Loricel Bahia	WMC	
Rev. Rey Alejandro L. Lazaro	CMAC	
Rev. Lovanesa C. Anabesa	DCNM	
Bishop Ligaya San Francisco, OIC	BuAC	
Rev. Zosimo C. Molina, Jr.	DCSZ	
Rev. Robert Dua	DCNZ	
Southeast Mindanao Jurisdictional Are	a (SEMJA)	
Rev. Aldren Jovita	ADC	
Rev. Amy O. Rafalez	SCSDC	
Rev. Rodel H. Rivera	SMDC	
Rev. Renato J. Gaňa	ACS	
Rev. Belly B. Domingo	CAC	
Rev. Riza Salas	SDDC	
Rev. Angelico Cofreros Jr.	NDDC	
Middle Luzon Jurisdictional Area (I	MLJA)	
Rev. Fernando C. Saria	LCSMC	
Rev. Rolando Laminato	NENEAC	
Rev. Jefferson Santos	WCLC	
Rev. Shall P. Gapongle	CLC	
Rev. Juliet S. Aguilar	UMC	
Rev. Dionicio G. Sanchez	MNC	
East Visayas Jurisdictional Area (EVJA)		
Rev. Lotis Calva-Fiel	SWLC	
Rev. Dolores P. Cabasan	NLBC	
Rev. Ebenezer Inhog	MC	
Rev. Ritcha Allego Luzara	NWSC	
Rev. Ruben B. Bobila	SIDC	
West Visayas Jurisdictional Area (V	VVJA)	
Rev. Lope Robin	BCI	
Rev. Bless Johannes Pace	CCI	
Rev. Ricky Anfone	CNAC	
Rev. Farrah Malahay	NNC	
Rev. Winston Mariano	WVC	

4 1

North Luzon Jurisdictional Area (NLJA)

Rev. Ariel D. Mendez	NLAC
Rev. Roy S. Dapeg Jr.	NHC
Rev. Lynn B. Gumallaoi	NWLC
Rev. Leojo S. Mateo	NCLC
Rev. Wilmer L. Bugtong	HC
Rev. Michael S. Dayag, Sr.	MHC
Rev. Amado W. Itas	NELC
Rev. Jorifel B. Malana	AC
Rev. Ireshlyn M. Bulusan	NAC

