Photo courtesy of

A Prophetic Declaration

When the righteous are in authority, the people rejoice; but when a wicked man rules, the people groan. (Proverbs 29:2).
Righteousness and justice are the foundation of your throne; steadfast love and faithfulness go before you. (Psalm 89:14)

Time and again, the Council of Bishops, along with a host of Church members, have steadfastly stood for what was right and just at the critical socio-historical junctures of the nation. As a Church, we were among the first religious groups that denounced the proclamation and ill-effects of Martial law in 1972. We were among those that accompany the struggle of the people in calling for the lifting of Martial law and emphasized the Church’s Declaration of Principles and faith imperatives in its opposition to oppressive and repressive laws imposed by the dictatorship.

Guided and inspired by prophetic witness to God’s justice and compassion, we untiringly journeyed with the most disadvantaged sectors of our society crying out for the dismantling and non-extension of the US Military Bases in the Philippines. We participated in the People’s Power Revolution in 1986 that eventually toppled the Marcos dictatorship. Our own history as a Church clearly attests to the truth that the UCCP, through the Council of Bishops, the Church Workers and the Laity strive to lived out its prophetic calling in season and out of season.

We are now at the crossroads of our life’s journey as a people. On May 9, 2022 the Filipino people will cast their votes to elect national and municipal leaders, senators, members of the parliament and party list. This is a point in time when we need to exercise our right of suffrage to choose leaders who can lead us towards our “promised land”- a land where our hopes, dreams and aspirations for a sustainable society and abundant life for many can come true.

Having carefully and prayerfully studied all the present options before us, we, the UCCP Council of Bishops collectively resolved to declare our ardent and impassioned endorsement of the Maria Leonor Gerona-Robredo and Francis Pangilinan tandem in the forthcoming May 9, 2022 elections. This is a result of our collective discernment, which may be used for moral guidance of our faith community, especially the undecided. But at the end of the day, the choice is still left with the individual believer on the basis of the Reformation dictum of the individual believer’s freedom of conscience and discernment, guided by the precepts of Scripture, the Word of God.

Using that lens, which of the candidates running for the Presidency is nearest and would best reflect the values which we find in the Word of God and as manifested in the reign of God. The candidates’ vision and political platform for our country are gauged by these values and seeing them as the ones who demonstrate the characters of a Godly servant-leadership. In choosing them, we are guided by our awe-inspiring commitment to herald the truth and be by the side of the most oppressed and vulnerable sectors of our society. As a collegial body of the Church, the Council of Bishops considers Leni Robredo-Kiko Pangilinan tandem as the best option for the Filipino people.

To make sure that VP Leni Robredo and Senator Kiko Pangilinan would be able to successfully push through with their pro-people agenda, we believe they need equally proven men and women of proven integrity and commitment to serve as their partners in the legislative branch. Henceforth, we also declare our support for the following senatorial candidates:

(4) Teddy Baguilat; (11) Jojo Binay; (16) Neri Colmenares; (18) Leila de Lima; (21) Chel Diokno; (26) Luke Espiritu; (34) Risa Hontiveros; (37) Elmer Bong Labog; (38) Alex Lacson; (45) Sonny Matula

In faithful exercise of our prophetic duty, we at the Council of Bishops, come forward as God wants to speak through us to edify and exhort the faithful in view of a pivotal decision, we have to make the May 9 Elections ultimately define our character and commitment to truth and righteousness. May God be on our side!

May 1, 2022

Bishop Melzar D. Labuntog
General Secretary

Bishop Joseph G. Agpaoa
North Luzon Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Emergencio D. Padillo
Middle Luzon Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Joel E. Tendero
South Luzon Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Jerome C. Baris
East Visayas Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Feliciana P. Tenchavez
West Visayas Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Ligaya F. San Francisco
Northwest Mindanao Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Hamuel G. Tequis
Southeast Mindanao Jurisdictional Area

Bishops Emeritus:
Bishop Arturo R. Asi
Bishop Jezer E. Bertoldo

Bishop Isaias L. Bingtan
Bishop Erme R. Camba
Bishop Ebenezer C. Camino
Bishop Constante D. Claro
Bishop Hilario M. Gomez, Jr.
Bishop Marino I. Inong
Bishop Reuel Norman O. Marigza
Bishop Roel P. Mendoza
Bishop Jaime R. Moriles

Bishop Eliezer M. Pascua
Bishop Dulce Pia-Rose
Bishop Elorde M. Sambat

Bishop Anacleto G. Serafica
Bishop Jessie S. Suarez
Bishop Rizalino Q. Taganas
Bishop Modesto D. Villasanta

Please click this link for the downloadable file, Choosing the Best Option for the People

Leave a Reply